Book Review: My Lady Jane

mlj

MY LADY JANE
Authors:
Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy,
Romance, Retelling, Humor, Fiction
My Rating: ★★★★★

promo4copy

The story starts when King Edward was diagnosed with ‘the Affliction‘–if my interpretation is correct, I assume that ‘the Affliction‘ is the equivalent of Tuberculosis in today’s generation. He was given six months to one year, tops, to live. Here comes Lord Dudley, King Edward’s royal adviser, he suggested Lady Jane Grey to be wed to his son, Gifford Dudley who is an Edian. Now, who is Lady Jane Grey? She is the King’s cousin and bestfriend, thus making her the successor of the throne. Gifford Dudley is Lady Jane’s husband. He is a horse by day, and a husband by night.

My Lady Jane is a tale of loyalty in the midst of betrayal. It is unfortunate to think that even your own family will betray you for power; even the people you trust would do everything to claim what isn’t theirs to keep. But despite of those, love and justice prevails. The book is told in 3 point of views: King Edward’s, Lady Jane’s, and Gifford’s. Reading this book made me feel like I’m at the theatre watching a play. It is that good.

The authors did a great job in writing this book given that it’s a retelling. This book is my first book written by those three amazing authors, and the story is beautifully written. It’s a historical fiction but it doesn’t seem like one because of the way it is written. You can never go wrong with Hist Fic! My Lady Jane is the most hilarious book I have ever read.  I recommend this book to everyone. Definitely entertaining!

promo4 copay

Leave a Reply

