ARC Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd

BLOG TOUR - UNSCRIPTED JOSS BYRD(BANNER)

cover

Author: Lygia Day Penaflor
Standalone, ARC
Publication Date
: August 23, 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction
My Rating: ★★★★

promo4co py copyHollywood critics agree. Joss Byrd is “fiercely emotional,” a young actress with “complete conviction,” and a “powerhouse.”

Joss Byrd is America’s most celebrated young actress, but on the set of her latest project, a gritty indie film called The Locals, Joss’s life is far from glamorous. While struggling with her mother’s expectations, a crush on her movie brother, and a secret that could end her career, Joss must pull off a performance worthy of a star. When her renowned, charismatic director demands more than she is ready to deliver, Joss must go off-script to stay true to herself.

promo4copy

I would like to thank Jasmine of Jasmine Pearl Reads and Ms. Lygia Day Penaflor for the ARC of this book.

This review is actually long overdue, but I also got it late so that’s why. When Jassy announced on Twitter that she will be hosting a book tour together with Ms. Lygia, I immediately signed up because of the following reasons:

  • Firstly, look at the cover! Just look at it, totally a cover buy (but it isn’t out yet);
  • Secondly, is that it is written by a Filipino author. The mere thought of it made me so happy and proud at the same time; and
  • Lastly, the synopsis definitely got my attention.

To be honest, I did not expect to be chosen as one of the bloggers because there are people better than I do! That is why I thank you for the trust, Jassy and Ms. Lygia.

Let me tell you a story. When I was 8, my aunt brought me to one of the famous television networks in my country for an acting workshop. At that time, I did not know that we were going there, but when I found out I cried because I didn’t want to. Luckily, she did not push me. That leads me to Joss’ mother, Viva. Her mother is the typical stage mom, I bet all mothers are. I understand that she just wants the best for her daughter, but she’s being pushy sometimes, and I hate her for it.

It’s amazing how I can feel Joss’ struggle just by reading the book. There’s a scene from the book that reminded me of one of my favorite Indian films, Like Stars On Earth, where the little boy is dyslexic. I find it ironic because Joss is a child star but she finds the letters floating and mash on top of the other.

“Life’s hard enough when you haven’t got a talent. I should know. I don’t want your life to be hard”

For me, Unscripted Joss Byrd  is a great tale of coming of age and accepting one’s flaws. This book definitely gave justice to Young Adult.


logo

Pre-order the book at Book Depository and get free shipping!

promo4 copay

3 thoughts on “ARC Tour: Unscripted Joss Byrd

  1. This sounds like an interesting book! I feel like I saw it on Netgalley but didn’t request it for some reason, but now I’m wondering if I should have. The plot seems quite different from the typical YA, and I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

