Book Review: Air Awakens

23127048

Air Awakens
Author: Elise Kova
Series: Air Awakens
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Magic, Romance
My rating: ★★★★.5

promo4co py copy

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik—she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.

promo4copy

“Fire needs air to live. Air fuels fire, stokes it, and makes it burn brighter and hotter than it ever could alone. But too much air will snuff it completely, just as too many flames will consume all the air. They are far greater than the sum of their parts together, but are equally as dangerous to each other’s existence”

Air Awakens is one helluva unique book an author has ever written, and a reader has ever read. It is categorized as Fantasy, check; Young Adult Fantasy, check; Magic, check; and Romance, check, but just the right amount that sends butterfly to my stomach. This book is equally distributed among the genres I stated above. It has the right amount of fantasy, magic and a bit of romance. The book gets more exciting with every turn of the pages, it is one of the books that leaves you wanting for more.

The book is about Vhalla Yarl. She is a library apprentice turned sorcerer, and; Prince Aldrik. My oh so swoony Prince Aldrik. He is known as the silver tongued prince. I did not have a hard time connecting with Vhalla’s character maybe because we both love books. She enjoys being in the library, and I do, too. I also connected with Prince Aldrik easily because I have a spot for mysterious, smart, and good looking princes.

I loved the flow of the story. For me, there was no case of insta-love in the book, and I thank the book gods because it’s been a while since I last read a book with no insta-love. The book gave me kilig vibes. I don’t think there is an English term for kilig, but that is what I’m feeling while reading the book.

I actually had a hard time constructing a review for Air Awakens not because it is an awful book, but because it is so beautiful that words can’t justify the beauty of the story. I have known this book because of the hype it is getting from people I follow on Twitter. They were tweeting about how good this book is, about how they can’t wait for the next book. I remember asking them to recommend me a book with a badass female character, and majority recommended Air Awakens. Now it’s my turn to recommend this book to you if you have not read it yet. This book is worth the read, I swear!

promo4 copay

Leave a Reply

