Book Review: Cinder

13722513Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Dystopian
My rating: ☆☆☆☆.5

55

Amazon
Bookdepository

promo4co py copy

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

promo4copy

Let me start with how I have always wanted to read this book ever since I laid my eyes on it but can’t find the perfect timing because of my studies, and now I have finally read the first book.

WOW. JUST WOW! I regret not reading it earlier but I also think that I made the right decision by reading it just recently. I have been in a fantasy slump for almost a year and I thank the book gods for the existence of Cinder because it has been the cure.

Correct me if I’m wrong but, I think Cinder is set in the future. I knew it because of the mention of World War IV, the use of chips, and the androids. To be honest, I had a hard time imagining how Cinder looks like– is she human or cyborg– because I find the description of her too complicated that’s why I had to Google it. But as I read further, I discovered that she’s something more.

This book is not like any other books that has insta-love the moment the hero and the heroine sees each other for the first time, it’s more of a crush which is what it should be really is. This book isn’t high in romance and it’s my first time to read a book like this. It is also unpredictable which is a good thing for me. I have had made a lot of guesses while reading but none of them happened! I love a book that is unpredictable.

I really wanted to give this book a 5-Star rating but I was looking for action and I didn’t find any. I was expecting for a war, but none happened. Content-wise, the book is a 5-Star for me. There’s no doubt on that, but I just really had to give it 4 stars and it’s hard to explain why. Nevertheless, it didn’t affect the awesomeness of the book.

Marissa Meyer is very creative and has a very wild imagination. She gave justice to the fairytale Cinderella. I think I might have found another new favorite author.

promo4 copay

One thought on “Book Review: Cinder

Leave a Reply

