Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

8591107The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Mystery
My rating: ☆☆☆☆☆
55
Goodreads
Amazon
Bookdepository

promo4copyI can’t remember if it is my first time reading a book with the same kind of genre, but it somehow reminded me of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart because of the scary factor, but The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is scarier.

I have wanted to read this book since it was published but whenever I attempt to, I always hear and read reviews like “That book scared the shit out of me” and the like. So I don’t because I might get really scared, and I am sometimes paranoid too. As I scroll through The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer on Goodreads, I saw that almost all of my Goodreads friends have read it already and rated it 4-5 stars tops while some gave 2-3 stars. Two of my friends have already read this book and I’m glad that I have somebody whom I can fangirl with.

I have not read anything like this before. I mean, something that has my mind totally blown. I’m trying to process everything and until now I can only process few. I really really need to read the second book immediately. I told myself when I was reading this that after I finish The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, I’ll proceed with my TBR pile, but things have changed because this book is such a cliffhanger that I want to read the second book while writing this review. Haha!

Mara is a 16-year old girl with not-so-normal abilities. Her family moved to Florida because of some tragic event that turned her life upside down. She met Noah at Croyden, a private school. They’re meant for each other. Mara thought that once they moved she would forget about what happened back to what used to be her home, but it seems like things have gotten worse. Her hallucinations became extreme. Even I can’t identify what really happened and what she has imagined. While I was reading I thought that Mara has Schizophrenia because of her hallucinations. That’s what she used to believe and what her family believes. Isn’t it sad when nobody believes in you? The only person that knows she isn’t mad is Noah. He is such a sweet person. Now, I can understand why a lot of girls want their own Noah Shaw. I also want my own Noah Shaw. Mara and Noah is a match made in heaven.

There are a lot of things I wanted to write in this review but I can’t let it out. I can’t find the write words to summarize the awesomeness that is this book.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is a scary yet beautiful read. It has already made its way to my 2015 Favorite Reads. There are books that are good, and there are books that are great. This book is great.

P.S. Don’t read with your lights off. Unless you’re tough.

promo4 copay

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

  1. Pingback: WHAT EL READ

Leave a Reply

