Book Review: After Hours

22817098After Hours
Author: Claire Kennedy
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction
My rating: No rating. Did not finished.

promo4co py copy

Isa, Xavi, Peter, and Finn know that a job at the high-end Waterside Cafe isn’t just about waiting tables. It’s about the gossip, the hook-ups, the after-hours parties and, most of all, it’s about Tips.

Tips–the high-stakes game based on dares. Whoever completes the most dares wins the collected money. A sum that could change a wasted summer into a Summer to Remember.

Isa is the new girl with an embarrassing secret, and as long as she stays on top of her game, she sees no reason why anyone could ever find out.

Xavi will do anything for the money…absolutely anything.

Peter, Xavi’s stepbrother, has been in love with her for years, and he thinks the game is the perfect time to confess his feelings.

Finn is in the game just for the thrill. He has enough tips coming in to keep him happy…even if those tips come with some conditions.

From seduction to stealing to threats, the dares are a complete free-for-all, and only the best can win.

The sophisticated Waterside Cafe is anything but classy behind the scenes…and things are about to get dirty.

promo4copy

Warning: This is more of a rant. To avoid confusion, this what I think about the book

I never thought that I would shelf a DNF because I hate it so much!! Yes, I’ve shelved Alienated and My True Love Gave To Me as DNF but I didn’t hate those books, I just don’t feel it. Uhm, is there a difference? Anyway, what I’m trying to say is I didn’t even reached the half of this book because I feel like I’m gonna throw up if I read more of it.

When I picked this book I didn’t even bother to read the synopsis on Goodreads, so I downloaded it and I liked the first chapter, I thought it was interesting because there was the ‘mystery’, the curiosity, and I thought that the story will evolve around it. News flash: it doesn’t! The first chapter is Isa’s POV.

Let’s proceed to the next chapter, Finn’s POV. I have no problem with it because it’s common for books to have 2 POVs. But what I didn’t expect is, it has 4 POVs!!! I hate books with multiple POVs (the first book I read with this kind of format is Bleed, and I gave it 1 star. Back when I don’t know how to use Goodreads). I hated this chapter because the boy is just full of himself!

Next chapter, I’m not sure if it’s Pete’s or Xavi’s POV but when I read this chapter I knew that I’m not going to like it. Xavi’s so flirty like blurgh, and I just hate her! I also hate Isa, her character is too much.

I never thought that I’d hate a book this much! All in all, the book is too much. I just wasted several hours of my life reading this book. I could have just read the books I’m currently reading or just slept. I’ve only read 3 chapters of this book and I just couldn’t stand it. I’m sorry for the rant but hey, this is what I thnk about this book. I have nothing against the author. This book is my first Claire Kennedy book.

Moral: ALWAYS READ THE FREAKING SYNOPSIS!!

promo4 copay

One thought on “Book Review: After Hours

Leave a Reply

