Book Review: Out of the Easy

11178225Out of the Easy
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Genre: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
My rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

promo4co py copy

Out of the Easy is set against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New Orleans. Written by New York Times bestselling author Ruth Sepetys, this novel has something for everyone: love, mystery, murder, blackmail and warmth.

Josie Moraine wants out of The Big Easy – she needs more than New Orleans can offer. Known locally as a brothel prostitute’s daughter, she dreams of life at an elite college, far away from here.

But then a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie caught between her ambition and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans is luring Josie deeper in as she searches for the truth, and temptation beckons at every turn.
promo4copyLet me tell you why I loved this book: first, it talks about books; second, it talks about books and; third, did I already mentioned that it talks about books? But kidding aside, this book wowed me. I mean, just last month I’ve been dreading the thought of reading a ‘historical fiction’, but now things have changed.

This book got my interest right from the start. I stumbled upon this book when I was browsing through an online bookstore, and I decided to download an ebook copy of it because I got curious. I regret reading it not because it’s awful, but because it’s so good I just can’t stop reading. Mind you, I still have to read my lessons but it’s like they’re put aside because of this book. I’m actually planning to buy the book next week.

This book is about a girl named Jo who has a mother that is a prostitute,–not the filthy kind of prostitute, but the classy and beautiful one–and a father that is MIA. She works and lives in a bookstore. I think that Jo is stuck in the illusion of trying to find his father that’s why he keeps a list of all the old men he meets and she’s imagining that one of them could be her father. And that’s kind of creepy. I was actually worried that Jo might end up just like her mother. On the day of New Year’s Eve, a man from Memphis bought two books in the bookshop where she’s working, the next day she learned that the man just died. Jo is torn between investigating the reason of the man’s death and wanting to go to college.

I love Willie’s character. Yes, she’s a brothel madam, but she cares for Jo more than her own mother does. Sometimes, the people who act like they don’t care cares the most. I also loved Cokie because just like Willie, he was always there for Jo and he believed in her capabilities. And I secretly wanted Jesse and Jo to end up together.

The moral I got from reading this story is to never give up on your dreams.

Out of the Easy is my first Historical Fiction read and I must say it definitely exceeded my expectations. I thought this book would bore me to death but it didn’t. Now, I just want to read more Historical Fictions.

promo4 copay

Leave a Reply

