Book Review: The Selection Trilogy

selection-series

The Selection Trilogy 
Author: Kiera Cass
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy,Fiction
My rating: ☆☆☆☆.8

Click here to read the synopsis of the story.

promo4copy

Why do many people give this series a low rating? Why didn’t they find it good? Is it really that bad? Those were my thoughts before I started reading The Selection Trilogy. I have read mixed reviews– some liked it, some didn’t, and there are others who hasn’t read it yet.

While reading the series, I can’t help but compare some scenes to Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend. I don’t know if it was just me, or maybe if I have read The Selection before those books, it might be the other way around.
1. Being one of the selected Daughters of Illéa reminded me of being one of the tributes in The Hunger Games.
2. The Eights reminds me of the factionless.
3. Illéa used to be the United States of America. So was Legend’s the Republic.
4. And oh, the attacks reminded me of Clash of Clans 😀 Just kidding.

I also thought that America Singer’s name was a no brainer, but as I kept on reading I learned that there’s a story behind her name. And yes, America Singer is a singer.

I loved Aspen during the first book, but I hated his pride. I understand that a man should be the one providing a woman’s needs and not the other way around, but I really wanted to know if he was really going to propose to America. Well, he saved money, didn’t he? But it could also be for his family.

Prince Maxon. Even though he’s just another fictional character, I really hope that a guy like him exists in real life. Sigh. He’s so dreamy! He’s more than just another pretty face. A man should be like Maxon: Handsome, Witty and Gentleman.

My least favorite book in the series was The Elite because there were a lot of things that happened and I expected Maxon to already choose a wife but he didn’t and that irked me. I can’t figure out if it broke my heart, but I think it did. I would have given it 5 stars if it weren’t for America and her stubbornness. Also, the love triangle frustrates me!

The One is my second favorite because of the happy ending. They may have had rough times but they still ended up being together.

The Selection thought me to be yourself and be who you are. Don’t let fortune, fame and everything in between change you. Another thing I love about the book is that, it mentioned poverty and Prince Maxon did something about it. Thanks to America! Maybe if it were some officials, he would have just left the Fours, Fives, Sixes, Sevens and Eights starving, but he didn’t. Every leader should be like him.

I also love Kiera Cass’s writing style. The first book left me with so many questions. I don’t know why many people don’t like your book but I don’t care, I loved it anyway. I get it, we all have different opinions, and I respect that. To be honest, I really loved the book. It kept me entertained the whole time I was reading it. For me, there was never a dull moment. Kudos, ms K!

promo4 copay

Leave a Reply

