Book Review: The Deal

The Deal24504048
Author: Elle Kennedy
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Young Adult
My rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

Click here to read the synopsis of the story.

promo4copy

Allow me to give you a background about the main characters and the story. Garrett Graham is the captain of the hockey team and he’s failing in one of his subjects. He can’t afford to fail because losing means losing the title of being the captain of the hockey team and not being able to play the sport anymore. Hannah Wells is in the same class with Garrett and she’s acing the subject. Hannah isn’t really fond of Garrett because she thinks that athletes only pass because they are athletes. Garrett then asks Hannah to tutor him and the rest is history.

The Deal is a story set in college. I may or may not be a sucker for this kind of stories. This story is unique in it’s own way. I could actually list some differences this book has to other New Adult novels. It is already given that women in New Adult novels has their own baggage. And Hannah definitely has one. I can’t say that she handled it lightly, but I could say that she handled it well. Other women in typical New Adult books becomes depressed, sad and jumpy. Can you guess the baggage I’m talking about? It’s rape.

“I know it wasn’t my fault. I know I didn’t ask for it or do something to invite it….. And the most important lesson I learned is that I’m not a victim–I’m a survivor.”

Hannah handled it well because she knows that it’s not her fault she got raped. Like any other victims she never asked for it. She did not just stayed as a victim, but she became a survivor. And I adore her for that.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I loved the writing style of the author. The Deal isn’t your typical New Adult never. It is worth reading for and you can really find many differences if you compare it to other New Adults.

 promo4 copay

One thought on “Book Review: The Deal

Leave a Reply

